Miles from Home

China Commentary– Youthful Musings on the Environment, Culture & Development

The Silence is Deafening

leave a comment »

My apartment is a shell of what it once was.  I have been sitting on the bare floor staring at my dinky tv, also sitting on the floor.  No internet.  Utility bills piling up.  I feel very transient.

My ticket to Shanghai has me aboard EVA Air August 2nd, to Hong Kong, where I will have to run down a Chinese tourist visa in my layover.  Then I am off.

Once again, I will be landing in Asia, without knowing anyone or anything about my new home.  I have been networking a bit, found a CU alum who is helping me out a bit, but I have been bracing for the inevitable moments of solitude in a city of millions.  I’ll have a month to branch out, get rooted, before school starts.  Find an apartment.  Learn how to transport myself.  Buy a phone.  Find a friend.  Learning to walk all over again. 

Written by Miles

July 25, 2007 at 1:15 am

Leave a Reply

