Miles from Home

China Commentary– Youthful Musings on the Environment, Culture & Development

Re: View from Above

leave a comment »

Bianj,

“Above.” This is not the symbolic soapbox upon which I want to stand. To cast categories is a fool’s task. We all face this together, each our own worst enemy. I answer to myself, or try to, in the measure of which my mold and my morality direct me. In doing so, I gravitate towards conversations.

I wear a pair of “Save Darfur” t-shirts that I bought online in support of the cause. A few months ago, I wore them down to a music festival on the beaches of Kenting. Flipflops, aviators, ice cold Corona, I was the polaroid of privilege. And I rocked that shirt. People commented, scoffed, challenged me to what I knew or asked me how I justified wearing it while bending myself in the burn of the sun. This was a small measure of success. I made people think, even if for a split second.

I am no savior, no visionary. But I have a vote, and a wallet, and an idea of the shadow I want to leave in this Earthly experiment. You are no enemy to me, friend. You are a member of our intelligentsia, one of many keys to the many doors of our shared future. The responsibility of self-awareness is a luxury and a journey. Questions are the tour guides.

“Men have called me mad, but the question is not yet settled, whether madness is or is not the loftiest intelligence–whether much that is glorious–whether all that is profound–does not spring from disease of thought–from moods of mind exalted at the expense of the general intellect. Those who dream by day are cognizant of many things which escape those who dream only by night.”– Edgar Allen Poe

Written by Miles

May 18, 2007 at 3:08 pm

Leave a Reply

