Miles from Home

China Commentary– Youthful Musings on the Environment, Culture & Development

A Follow-up on the Philippines

leave a comment »

I am sure the whole concept of sex-tourism is pretty far fetched for those of you who read this back in the States.  But I live pretty far out here.  This industry is gigantic in Southeast Asia, way bigger than I could have ever imagined.  After my trip to the Philippines, it has stuck with me.  There were four main bars in the town near my resort.  All of them were whorehouses.  It is illegal, but it is registered and real.  For young girls (younger than my little sisters) in these countries the chances of escaping prostitution are slim.

I spoke with some of my male friends who have lived in Taiwan and travelled frequently in the region.  They agree that it wears on you.  It is baffling.  It just shouldn’t be this way.  Prostitution is one thing.  But systematic manipulation, exploitation, coercion and corruption are a bit much for me to stomach.

Everyone should know a little bit more about this.  It took me two minutes to find this essay, but it is well written.  Take 10 minutes and read this essay.  It was written in 1994, and the problem has only been exacerbated.  We are talking big dollars, big interests, major sociopolitical implications, and death.  Read it.

Written by Miles

October 31, 2006 at 9:20 am

Leave a Reply

